tangogugl.blogg.se

Bitcasa alternative
Bitcasa alternative






bitcasa alternative
  1. #BITCASA ALTERNATIVE HOW TO#
  2. #BITCASA ALTERNATIVE INSTALL#
  3. #BITCASA ALTERNATIVE FREE#

Unfortunately, PlaceBar Editor was originally written for an older Windows version so that it doesn’t directly support the Windows 7 Libraries but I’ll show you how to had Libraries to the Places Bar anyway below. Here’s how (there are other ways, like editing the registry directly, but this is how I did it): Since the idea of Bitcasa is not to backup the harddrive on my computer or my server, but to replace it, this feature is, and probably will not be available from them.Īnd what are your experiences with Bitcasa and/ or Crashplan?Īre you also annoyed that it is quite cumbersome to access your dropbox folder when opening or saving files in Windows? – Well I’ve been for a while now and I finally took the time to solve this problem. Plus: I can also use my NAS as a secondary backup, in addition to CrashplanCentral.

#BITCASA ALTERNATIVE INSTALL#

I managed to install Crashplan on on my ReadyNAS Ultra at home, which means that those 2 TB will also be backed up.Finding older versions of a particular file is not well solved in Bitcasa (check out their forum, where many people are suggesting to change the system, which currently requires you to know the day when that file was last changed.) In Crashplan, you can just select the file and see the different versions that have been backed up in a list and select the one you want.

bitcasa alternative

In the longrun, this will be Bitcasa’s advantage, but for now I’m fine with Crashplan. So you can access all your files from anywhere too, just not as comfortably as in Bitcasa.

  • Crashplan is not just for backing up and restoring to the same computer but you can selectively restore to any computer.
  • Just two three more things about why I currently prefer CrashPlan to Bitcasa: It’s the most expensive web-service that I have so far subscribed to, but when I almost lost years of work a couple of weeks ago, I decided: I need to start backing up properly and I want it to be easy and convenient, so I guess I will pay for it. So unless you’re short of cash, there is no reason to sign up for any subscription shorter than 4 years, as that is the best value for money (around 9 US$) per month. The good thing is their risk-free cancellation policy, which means you can cancel anytime and get the money for the remaining months back. It’s not the same thing, but it also offers infinite storage and since I was mainly looking for online and automatic backup, it’s clearly the best option for me at the moment.

    bitcasa alternative

    For now, I signed up for a four year Crashplan+ Family Unlimited account. I hope they won’t ruin it.Īnyway, I will wait another year or so, until my harddrive is overflowing or so, and reconsider a paid account. But I guess investors are standing in the door, tapping their fingers. So now we’re in beta-v2, or what? A few weeks ago, I told Bitcasa support that I think they should be honest revert to alpha. They seem to sense that themselves, as their blogpost announcing the end of the beta phase is entitled “The End of Beta as You Know It”. The thing is that Bitcasa is simply not out of beta stage. But unfortunately, Bitcasa told me that the 69$ is only for the first year. I was thinking: okay, if this offer is about 69 US$ yearly subscription fee for ever, then I would actually consider signing up. Don’t get me wrong: the support is fast and doing a good job, but I’ve spent too much time with this already and if I pay, I want it to save time for me. Little bugs, glitches and inconveniences that just don’t make it feel right yet. I’m not paying for this service just yet.

    #BITCASA ALTERNATIVE FREE#

    However: having tested Bitcasa for a couple of weeks now (when it was still free for beta testers), I have to say: nope. The reason for this quick blog post is that Bitcasa currently have an opening special offer where you can get the whole thing for 69 US$. Accessible from anywhere with internet access. It offers infinite (!) cloud storage mapped as a drive on your computer (just like SugarSync are now doing with Sugarsynch Drive) for 99 US$ per year.








    Bitcasa alternative